If, for some reason, you wish to close an eBay account, you need to be certain that you really want to take that step. You won’t be able to re-open your account once it is closed. If you are experiencing problems with your account, it might be worth getting in touch with eBay. There could be a less radical solution for your problem than deactivating it.

However, if you do decide to close an eBay account, it is relatively simple, but there are a few things to watch out for.

Taking the Final Steps



close an ebay account

Closing Your Seller Account or Shop


Should you want to keep your account solely for purchasing but don’t want to sell anymore, you can close just the seller account. To do so, you need to remove your payment information. On your seller account page, select the All payment methods option and click the Remove button.

Again, clear all outstanding payments and bids before closing the seller account. Also, make sure you cancel any subscriptions, as with the eBay Shop, as otherwise you may still be invoiced for these.

To close your Shop:


Once you have unsubscribed, all your Shop inventory listings will end.

What Now?


After you’ve gone through the closing process, your account will not be closed immediately. There is a waiting period of currently 60 days to ensure that all transactions are complete. During this period, you won’t be able to bid, make purchases, list items, or change your contact information, but you'll still have access to your account information.

Within this period, you can also contact eBay to reverse your decision and re-open your account. After those 60 days are over, however, the closing is final. Then you would have to create a new account with a new user ID etc.

After your account is closed, you'll no longer be able to use the user ID or email address associated with your closed account to access any part of eBay that requires an account. In addition, your Feedback profile will no longer be available to other members. Also, be aware that even after you have deleted your account, eBay will keep certain personal data from your profile according to their Privacy Policy.

In case you have a business account that you don’t want to use anymore and you would like to make it a private one, this is generally not possible. You would have to close down your business account and create an entirely new individual account.

Are You Sure?


are you sure you want to close an ebay account

However, as mentioned above, closing an eBay account is a big step that should not be carried out lightly. If your eBay sales are not booming as you expected them to, you might want to have a look at our blog post on how to sell on eBay like a boss.

And if you are missing the right tool to handle and monitor your eBay sales, you should consider implementing a cloud-based ERP solution that helps you gain control of your business. For example, you can try Khaos Control Cloud for FREE!

This is the sixth in a series of articles on selling on eBay. Click through for an overview of our Cloud eBay Integration and for the complete list of resources.

STAY CONNECTED

Introduce a little Khaos into your Inbox and let our free content and advice help you grow your business.

Back To Top

BACK TO TOP